Ferry at Sunset

Ferry at Sunset

Murray Bridge

Murray Bridge

Hahndorf –Mt Barker – Nairne – Mt Torrens – Mannum (Bolto Reserve)

I’m setting off for Mannum via Mt Barker, Nairne and Mt Torrens via the Onkaparinga Scenic Route this morning.

As I’m coming back to Mt Barker on Friday to get the bus serviced, I do a quick tour and find where I have to go then head off through the hills to Nairne.  The murals at Nairne are fabulous – a real feature of this small village. I stopped and walked around enjoying the artwork and taking photos before heading to Mt Torrens – a crossroads on my Onkaparinga Scenic Drive to Mannum.

The water pipes in the golden fields are such a contrast as is the type of country this drive includes.  Forested hills, vineyards, wheat fields the rugged rocky outcrops, sandhills on the riverbank, then riverlands and swamps.  Amazing diversity and in such a short drive really.

A ferry ride across the Murray takes me to Bolto Reserve and my campsite for a couple of days to catch up on the diary, photos, letters and blog which have all been sadly neglected.

Mannum – Murray Bridge – Mt Barker

I left Mannum reasonably early as I wanted to set up at Mt Barker early enough to do some more on the blog which is well behind now, as I have had no coverage for internet.  The drive to Murray Bridge is very hilly but quite beautiful – large rolling cleared hills as opposed to the treed one in the Adelaide Hills – much more open and they are not as windy.

On the way into Murray Bridge I find some wetlands – the Rocky Gully Wetlands right near the information board. Murray Bridge has this great waterfront area with a Paddle steamer named Captain Proud and many plaques denoting sunken vessels along the shore line.

There are a couple of magnificent bridges, one is the railway bridge which was built in 1925 (before the rail bridge was built trains crossed the Old Bridge and went through a cutting at this spot.  The other bridge is the oldest Bridge over the Murray River, built between 1873 and 1879.There is great green-space along the waterfront.  The cockatoos were enjoying the greenery in their hundreds.  I enjoyed the drive around as walking was out due to the heat – very hot and steamy.  Off to Cash Converters as I need to buy some Golf Clubs so that I can golf the Nullabour then off to Mt Barker – another hilly scenic drive.  Parked up at the wetlands car park for the night and am using the computer in a great wetland park – an office with a view.  When it cools down I’ll head for my walk and more photos.

Before Mt Barker

Before Mt Barker

Nairne Murals

Nairne Murals

Nairne Murals

Nairne Murals

Nairne Murals

Nairne Murals

Nairne to Mt Torrens

Nairne to Mt Torrens

Onkaparinga Scenic Drive

Onkaparinga Scenic Drive

Before Mannum

Before Mannum

Palmer Bear Rock

Palmer Bear Rock

Palmer to Mannum

Palmer to Mannum

Mannum Streetscape

Mannum Streetscape

Mannum Building

Mannum Building

Mannum Murals

Mannum Murals

Before Palmer

Before Palmer

Murray Bridge
Murray Bridge

Murray Bridge Wetlands

Murray Bridge Wetlands

Cockies at Murray Bridge

Cockies at Murray Bridge

